top of page
  • Holly Gaskill

5 things I wasn't expecting from studying journalism

Updated: Jul 8, 2021

Back when I was applying to colleges, I marked my applications with the intent to study journalism with no idea what that would really mean.


No one from my small hometown was going to school for journalism. A couple people even accused me of just going after the "Hallmark fantasy."


At the core of it, I just knew I loved writing stories that mattered, whether informing about local news or recording people's stories. However, I had no idea what going to school for journalism would look like. I can't even reference my initial guesses -- I had none.


Now, as a junior, I'm welcoming freshmen to the major and assisting them through the same things I had to learn. So, from me to you, here are five things I wasn't expecting from studying journalism.



1. You will live, eat and breathe your campus newspaper.


I don't know why I ever thought working on the campus newspaper would be a fun, little side thing. In reality, it's an everyday thing. There are always stories we should cover, people to contact or assignments to cover with your team.


The newspaper office will become your second home and the staff will become your second family (peep the photo of the staff my freshman year!)


2. Your general education classes are just as important as your major classes (for the most part.)


Journalism covers anything and everything, and thus, gen ed classes are still so important! Sometimes they provide story ideas, while other times they just help you better understand the content you're covering.


3. You're not always going to feel confident in your major.


Oh boy. Honestly, this is probably applicable for most majors, but I think journalism is especially susceptible. At times, it can be really easy to have a sense of imposter syndrome as you're weighed against your peers, other schools and professionals. Other times, it's just exhausting because of the time and hustle it takes. Another late night, another heartbreaking story or another season of dried-up inspiration.


While it's sometimes tempting to give up, remember that you got to where you are for a reason -- you have this job because they wanted your skills in this position. You got that scholarship because you have potential. Your story headlined because it was fantastic. Give yourself some credit.


4. Your ideas of a dream job might shift.


As you take classes, you're naturally going to discover things you do and don't like -- don't be afraid of that. A degree in journalism can apply to news writing, marketing, PR, videography, and more.


For most people, your childhood dream job is not the same one you're pursuing today. When I was a child, my dream job was performing like Hannah Montana. My life's experiences advised me otherwise then, and it can do so now. There's no shame in that.


5. It will be the most rewarding experience.


Studying journalism has taught me how to become a better writer, as well as a better global citizen. And through my classes and the campus paper, I've met amazing people who share similar passions.


Even with all the late nights, class frustrations or writer's block, I've not regretted where I am today.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page